Zoom Q3 or Kodak Zi8 with zoom mic or.....

cb56

Reaction score
I'm looking to get into video the next few months and would like to keep it simple and $200 or less. I have office movie maker already on my computer for editing. I have very little knowledge or experience at this.
I want to be able to record videos of my playing and various uke groups jamming. I also would like to be able to join in on online jam sessions. I see the kodak has a built in USB connection so I'm not sure if that would keep me from videoing myself while online during online jam sessions.Thanks in advance for your help.

I'm looking to get into video the next few months and would like to keep it simple and $200 or less. I have office movie maker already on my computer for editing. I have very little knowledge or experience at this.
I want to be able to record videos of my playing and various uke groups jamming. I also would like to be able to join in on online jam sessions. I see the kodak has a built in USB connection so I'm not sure if that would keep me from videoing myself while online during online jam sessions.Thanks in advance for your help.

Be careful that you buy something that has a file format that Movie Maker accepts. The old Q3 did not work with Movie Maker without converting the file to another one, and that was not easy without losing definition. I am not sure about the new HD version. I suspect that the Kodak has the same problem.

The new Flip Ultra HD can be used with Movie Maker. I use it all the time. But the audio is useless. You would need something like a Zoom H1 to record the audio. The two together would cost more than $200 though.

Do check out file formats. On a Mac the Zoom Q3 works perfectly.

Another option is to buy a Zoom H2 and just use a good quality compact camera set to video.