Beginner - left hand problems

Marklele

Reaction score
I have been playing for a couple of months, and coming on, slowly.
I have come upon a problem that I am struggling with.
When changing chords where all fingers have to change position so there is no anchor finger (e.g. D minor to E minor), how do I hold the neck still, when my thumb is pressing firmly on the back of the neck?
What tends to happen is that my thumb slips round, so that the neck is held in the crook of my thumb & index finger. That holds the neck firm, but my hand is in the wrong position to make clean chords.
Any suggestions or help, very gratefully received

Thanks!

I use my ring finger on the C string of the DM chord and slide it lightly to the forth fret, then reposition my index and middle fingers...I hope it helps...Happy Strummings..MM Stan
I do not use my thumb and just cradle it between my thumb and index finger and open palm..

Last edited:
I rest the neck of the uke at the base of my pointer finger when changing chords like that. Almost like thumbing the top string which helps me keep the neck stable. My guess is that your left hand is too tense and you're pressing too hard with your thumb which happens when you're first starting out with any stringed instrument really. Once your get more comfortable with your fingering and pressure you can produce the same sound without pressing as hard which will help with your chord transitions.

I find that I just let the neck rest in the web between the index finger and the thumb. I guess that I rarely press the thumb against the back of the neck - I think I do for the E7, but even with Barre chords, my thumb is usually just up against the back of the neck.

Maybe its a leftover from playing guitar?

-Kurt

I agree totally with zipykido - as a beginner, one of the most common bad habits is that you tend to grip and squeeze the neck too hard - this would account for your problem.

Dont worry - its perfectly normal, and it will get better.