String buzz

temporus

Reaction score
I've been slacking off for a few months on my practicing. Recently, I went to pick up my Uke, I started to notice some fret buzzing, something I never ran across last summer when I first bought the instrument. After some serious testing, I've narrowed down the cluprit fret. I'm not sure if this got introduced due to the winter dryness in the house, or what. I'm curious if there's any way to resolve this issue short of taking off the strings, masking my fretboard, and sanding down the offending fret. It's somewhere around the 14th fret, and it affects all four strings. And at that point, I'm thinking, that restringing with the old strings is a bad idea. A shame they still have plenty of life in them. Anyway, just was wondering what recommendations folks have. So long as I just want to play chords and the like in the lowest few hand positions, it's not a problem. But anything up over the seventh fret and I start to run into buzz bad enough that sometimes you can't even get a proper note out on the string at all.

Thanks,

Ed

Sanding down frets is not a good idea unless you know what you are doing. much better to get it set up properly by someone who knows what they are doing, particularly if it is an expensive instrument. If it is all four strings it doesn't sound like it is the strings that are causing the buzzing. Hope you manage to get it sorted!

Fin