Baritone Uke Strings

pdxuke

Reaction score
I may be lucking into a deal on an Ohana Baritone. Somewhere I remember a thread on string sets that are not wound. Could bari players weigh in?

You could try Worth Browns or Clears. Both sets are unwound. I use the Brown's on my Kala Bari. They are decent strings, I much prefer them over others I have tried.

I have them and I don't know what to say as I have limited experience as far as the baritone goes. I have them on a makala but have kept it tuned dgbe and somehow I wish they felt a little tighter but they seem to work fine.

If you don't want wound strings, think about it, you could use the Tenor Fluorocarbons on the Baritone as it is only 2 inches longer. Don't you normally throw away at least two inches on a stringset?

uu'er Lozarkman plays mostly Baritone tuned to linear C. I asked him in a PM about strings and he directed me to SouthCoast Ukes sets. I have not tried them as I decided for now it was OK learning two names for every chord shape (ugh...my head hurts) but may in the near future- I am sure he will answer any questions for you- he was very gracious and replied quickly to my PM's on the subject

Was at the local shop today and Aquila makes a low g set for Bartone, no wound strings. Now I have to search for low g tuning youtube recordings, because believe it or not, I have no idea what it sounds like :)

Sounds like the top four strings of a guitar, up a fifth!

The Worth Brown tenor strings on my bari work really well even tuned up a step, if you like Worths there would be enough for a tenor and a bari in one set. My bari is an old mahogany (maybe lam, looks real) but the build makes even the thinner strings sound really nice.

Was at the local shop today and Aquila makes a low g set for Bartone, no wound strings. Now I have to search for low g tuning youtube recordings, because believe it or not, I have no idea what it sounds like :)