my guitar playing son and the uke!

fitncrafty

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
Well today when my 15 yr old son came home I was playing my ukuele (eleuke) but had played and taken out my first uke 'Buzz'(cause I felt sorry it's been sitting for song long UN-played) a not very nice sounding Samick u-50 or something like that... anyhow my son is left handed and picked it up upside down and started fingering out some chords... then found "I walk the Line' In one of my easy to play uke song books.

Before you know it, he was picking the melody lines(upside down) as I was strumming along the chords... He started to talk about recording and laying his singing over the tracks we were playing. Then he started making jokes about being the Jimmy Hendrix of the ukulele.. funny for sure!

I have been playing for about 6 months and no one in my house ever expressed an interest.. It was fun, even if it was a simple song, nice that someone expressed an interest in what I am doing... maybe a uke bug catching on?

Just wanted to share a story!

That;s great, Carrie!

Now, bring him to Uke night next month! (April 11).

-Kurt

(Tell him that he can use the amp...)

That sounds great. I know nobody who plays or has an intrest in ukulele so i would be over the moon if something like this happend to me.

That;s great, Carrie!

Now, bring him to Uke night next month! (April 11).

-Kurt

(Tell him that he can use the amp...)

He can't Kurt because he has scouts Monday which is why I don't always get to go to uke night... Let's see if I can keep him playing around with it. I don't want to convert him, just get him to play with me. Even if it's uke and guitar.

Great story. In my Freight Train vid I tell the story about Elizabeth Cotten (who was left handed) playing the guitar upside down, because that was all she had. The style of playing she developed is to this day known as, "Cotten picking."

Brilliant news - its always a good moment when the world gains another ukulele player!