Koaloha Super Concert fretboard probem: HELP!

fabioponta

Reaction score
Hello UU, please, help me!
I have my Koaloha superconcert since May 2010. It was my first ukulele high quality. Since then I love the sound, but I did not like the rosewood fretboard, as I felt rough, and he started to have blemishes when I started playing, as you can see in the pictures. However, I felt normal, because no one in Brazil has top-end ukuleles for comparison.

After that, I bought two other koalohas (by MGM) that I love: a soprano and a concert pikake, and both have in koa fretboard that I love: they are smooth and look good. I am very satisfied .

So, recently, I bought a KPK tenor, also with a tenor Rosewood fretboard. And whow, the KPK fretboard looks pretty slick, and has no blemishes with use. This can be seen in photos.

What do you think?
Anyone else have a koaloha superconcert to give your opinion? is this normal?

I want to change the koaloha fretboard, and this is a problem: I'm right?
Koaloha 2nd fret.jpgKoaloha 3 frets.jpgPili Koko scale.jpgPili koko Brace.jpg
koalohabrace.jpg
[/IMG]

Attachments

• Pili koko 2nd fret.jpg
    Pili koko 2nd fret.jpg
    83.9 KB · Views: 26
Last edited:
Do you have long fingernails that might be digging into the fretboard?? trim them....John has a good suggestion...oil your fretboard it looks kinda dry....good luck ....

Ebony is harder than koa so if you have worn out your ebony fretboard your koa ones might go faster without proper maintenance.

That looks fairly normal for a rosewood fretboard if it's been played a lot - and especially if you do string bends or vibrato. You should see what steel strings on guitars do to rosewood fretboards! From the looks of the strings you've put quite a bit of time on them and have been doing a fair amount of bending or vibrato.

Rosewood is a hardwood, but it's not the hardest of hardwoods by any means. Especially the rosewood typically available these days.