Baritone Ukuleles

mlindsey

Reaction score
Hi. I am new to the board. I would appreciate a referral for a good baritone uke. I am a musician, but pretty new to the uke. Any suggestions? I see a mahogony Melokia advertised on several sites, but it looks very different from the ones on the Melokia site that a koa wood.

Many love the Mainland Mahogany Baritone Uke. I have my eye on an Ohana locally.

I've had a chance to play the Ohana Roundback Baritone and I loved the sound. I'm sure the Mainland is just as good though.

I can't help with what to buy as I don't play baritone, but I have played a bunch of Mainland ukulele's and they are a great value....

As for Baritone ukulele's, my friend does a great Bari Blog which is fun....
http://humblebaritonics.blogspot.com/

I'm curious why you would want a baritone ukulele... you say you are a musician, are you a guitar player? Pretty much all the manufacturers have a full line up from soprano or smaller up through baritone. Then, it depends on what you think you might like as far as tone and looks. You know I know one that I bet would be awesome. http://www.amazon.com/Riptide-UB-5NS-Baritone-Ukulele-Finish/dp/B002SSU85Y/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=musical-instruments&qid=1300917016&sr=8-2 I say this because I tried their concert in this line and it was real nice. Also someone else on here tried the tenor of this version. But, I myself have a Makala which costs about half of this, but its no looker. This Riptide I bet would be a great instrument--even though i have not tried it.

To me, baritones are sort of not exactly ukuleles but their own thing because they are normally tuned differently. Not that you have to tune them differently .... but normally they are tuned like a guitar, not a ukulele.