Hot hideglue or Titebond for crack repair

Natsok

Reaction score
Hi all,
Whats the best way to glue this crack securely, is hot hide glue better than titebond original, or is it 50/50?
The crack is 3 1/2" or 100mm, is clean and fresh (no dirt or dust) and has seperated from the back brace (the back bracing is still secure to the dentures and is not split or cracked).
As the distance is short and there is the brace that runs across it, would cleats be necessary and if so which is preferable, a small spruce square, or glued fabric, or brown paper glue?
I'm happy to repair it , but don't want to use the wrong method (The finish is french polish which I can sort out after the fix) any input would be great, cheers

impact happened here, on the lower back edge;(

View attachment 22191View attachment 22193View attachment 22194View attachment 22192

mark

I'm not an expert on it, but I would think the hide glue would be preferable to the titebond. Acoustics wise, there isn't going to be a lot at play here, but the hide glue would likely minimize the changes in tone and resonance. Just make sure you properly clamp everything. The worst result would be a brace that rattles.

~DB

Without question if it was on my bench it would be HHG all the way. Under no circumstance would I use any type of PVA for a repair like that.

I would do the crack repair first and then assess whether it required any reinforcement. Something that clean without any crushing of fibres can usually get by without patches. I've only used spruce or fabric for patches, and they wouldn't need to be all that big.

I am thinkign about the restoration I want to do on the vintage pineapple Ive got and was looking into hide glue becasue I want to do it right ad have the finish come out nice,, as it has several cracks.

but Ive never used hide glue before and havign to have a boiler and all that is beyond my means

then I saw this stuff, titebond hide glue that doesnt need heating etc