TAB vs. Standard notation

oceanjaws

Reaction score
I'm a guitarist who recently started to dabble in Uke.
One of the things I love about guitar is that you have choices in how you play music that is written as standard notation.
As a guitar teacher I promote music literacy as much as I can without being a hard-ass, but all the Uke music has TAB underneath, making it too easy to sneak a peek.
The Uke has the complication of the G string being higher, which makes it slightly more confusing to read standard notation, but it also offers some very expressive options.

Are there any players here who would deride TAB as being a cop out; mere 'puppetry'?
Also, how about suggesting a book for beginners which doesn't have TAB?

When I started playing uke in December 2009, I did not know how to read tabs, but did know how to read standard music notation. What I did not know was what frets and strings went with the standard notes. Since so much uke (and guitar) music is written in tabulature, I decided to learn how to read tabs, which of course takes only about 5 minutes, and what makes tabs so popular.

Lately, I have been playing a lot from a book called, "The Daily Ukulele," which does not have tabs, but rather 365 songs in standard music notation and chords. I recommend it for players who you want to wean off tabs. You would have to augment it with most any standard book (such as the Mel Bay begginer books) and teach them to count and to associate the notation with the frets. I often record the chords from the book as a backing track, then practice sight reading and playing the melodies from the standard notation in the book. That book has reminded me why I like standard notation better than tabs. There are several reasons (for me at least):

1. Many tabbed pieces are written without timing information, although it is possible to put tails on the tabbed notes to indicate timing (whole, half, quarter notes, etc)