How do you stay motivated?

rem50

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I started playing about 5 months ago and have thoroughly enjoyed every minute. I have come from a bluegrass background so I have a lot of songs already between my ears. I have gotten relatively proficient in the major chords and am picking up new songs pretty fast but am starting to get a little bored. What I mean is I need to learn different strumming techniques, maybe scales???? My question is what do you do to increase proficiency and keep your playing fresh? Any suggestions??? I am really wanting to increase my learning so I appreciate your help in the learning curve.

I try to make YouTube videos. If you do more than just simple strumming and singing its pretty challenging (for me anyway). Try multi-tracking, singing and playing all the different parts, fancy screens etc etc. You can also try working up a repertoire to do at an open mic. Nothing sharpens the senses like an open mic on the next evening lol.

+1 for hitting the Youtube, and an hour a day dedicated entirely to sounding like Ukulele Ike or George Formby...because that stuff is not written down

I'm with SweetWaterBlue about the vidoes and open mike. I go to a place that does an open mike every two weeks, and videotapes the shows and puts them up on YouTube. It makes me want to keep working on different parts of my repertoire, and learning more songs, so they're not just putting up repeated videos of the same songs. I also look for songs that both I want to play because I like the song, and at the same time give me a playing challenge.