PDA

View Full Version : Who are the Martin, Taylor and Gibsons of Uke?

AcousticDoc
07-24-2008, 10:05 AM
Hello, I'm a beginner and was wondering what were the equavilant uke companies that are the high quality mass produced Ukes similar to Taylor, Martin and Gibson guitars. Oh and what would also be the more smaller privately handbuilt James Olson or goodalls of the uke world as well?

Boozelele
07-24-2008, 10:56 AM
Hello, I'm a beginner and was wondering what were the equavilant uke companies that are the high quality mass produced Ukes similar to Taylor, Martin and Gibson guitars. Oh and what would also be the more smaller privately handbuilt James Olson or goodalls of the uke world as well?

Dude! you left out Fender....what's up with that??? :(

I think that the popularity of guitars facilitates mass produced high quality instruments....where as the uke has two distinct classes...mass produced and hand crafted. Now some of the mass produced ukes are 'good' instruments...but the hand crafted ukes can be 'REALLY good' instruments (I know, I know, I'm totally speaking in generalizations)

AcousticDoc
07-24-2008, 11:01 AM

Cause Fender builds crappy guitars! J/K! I was just listing good acoustic guitar brands (fender doesn't have any good acoustics!) So from my 30 minute research are the big mass produced ukulele's Kala and Kamaka?

seeso
07-24-2008, 11:02 AM
Kamaka, KoAloha, Martin

Poi Dog
07-24-2008, 11:05 AM
Easiest way to figure out what's the best of the best...

"What are YOUR favorite PROS using?" For me its... What does Jake use? How about Britni Paiva or Victoria Vox or James Hill or Herb Otah jr. or ALDRINE? How about some bands... like Ho'onua or Malino, etc.

Answer for me is... Kamaka, Koaloha and G-String.

AcousticDoc
07-24-2008, 11:06 AM
Kamaka, KoAloha, Martin

So all the Kala's that I've been seeing around here are not very good?

AcousticDoc
07-24-2008, 11:09 AM