Guitarist to Uke Player

JTF337

Reaction score
Hello ukulele-loving community,

i've been playing guitar for 4 years now and am thinking about getting into ukulele. after looking around at ukeleles, i am between the Kala KT-KCG Cedar Top Concert or the same model but a Tenor.

i know the tenor is alittle bit big and has a deeper tone. what is your opinion on the two? which do you prefer over the other and why?

I have played guitar and ukulele both for over forty years. My favorite uke size is concert. Why, it gives me more room than a soprano uke for my long fingers, yet it is more like a traditional (soprano) uke than a tenor. I also love baritones, although luthier Chuck Moore of Moore Bettah Ukes will tell you that a "bari" is not a uke at all.

I've played guitar for over 30 years and have taken up the uke in the past year or so. As a guitar player I like the concert over the tenor - have one of each, but I'm really starting to like the soprano - now have 3 of them, different makes, different woods.

I've played guitar (badly) for 15 years and as of this year, I own a soprano, a concert and a tenor uke. My favourite is the concert. I find the soprano a bit small for my fingers, the tenor feels a bit big, but the concert is just right. It's small enough to play while standing up (without a strap), has the taditional uke sound without being too small and fiddly.

I'd start with a concert and when you get addicted, you can then buy the other sizes!

I've got the Kala Cedar Top tenor. I love it. My hands get a bit cramped playing on _some_ concert models,and _most_ sopranos, but I've ended up mostly with Tenors, because of the comfort.

After about 40 years of playing guitar, which I would still do if it didn't cause intense discomfort, I find the ukulele a joy to play.

-Kurt

I also love baritones, although luthier Chuck Moore of Moore Bettah Ukes will tell you that a "bari" is not a uke at all.