Hi, just wondering what kind of ukulele i have.

larryc

Reaction score
Hello, im a noob as you can see. great website name. glad i stumbled across it...

My grandpa (auto) died back in the early 80's before i was born and he had this silvertone. just wondering what kind and year it is. my cousin says she remembers him playing it for her all the time when she was little.

i think it's a silvertone Soprano from the 50's or earlier??? any info would be greatly appreciated.

101_6749.jpg

101_6748.jpg

101_6751.jpg

101_6750.jpg

If you scroll down here you'll find a bit of info on Silvertone, including a photo of a similar uke to yours. Silvertone was Sears' store brand. When I was a kid I had a Silvertone guitar and it was pretty low-quality IIRC, but the Silvertone ukes seem to have been a step up - solid mahogany, made by Harmony.

You should put some good strings on it and see how it sounds!

Looks like you have three tuning pegs there. Unless you are concerned about historical accuracy (I hope not) then you could get a guitar shop to install friction tuners. Pegs require more tuning (in my humble opinion) and who really wants to tune after every song? They cost 2 bucks each. I think the friction tuners would have a larger diameter than the pegs, so somebody has to get a drill out.... But then again, it was purchased at Sears, so we're not talking about repainting the Mona Lisa.

Don't refinish or strip it though. Clean it up. My prediction is that this will open the door to a new passion, if you let it.

Looks like a great old Silvertone! I would say it is older than the 50's for sure....more likely the late 30's or 40's. I think the sunburst Slivertones like yours are really cool. I have a Silvertone that is fun to play, it is somewhat quiet compared to higher end uke's.