Timing Is Everthing!!!

rowjimmytour

Reaction score
I have only been playing for three + months so far and practice URBC, Absolute Beginners Ukulele and about a half dozen songs a night but I seem to have major problems w/ timing. I know it takes practice and I am not discouraged I just want to know if timing comes w/ confidence after you feel comfortable w/ the chords etc Or should I focus more on my timing and how? Perfect example is the song blowing in the wind from Uncle Rods song book. I have all the cords down and watched and listened to tons of utube videos but still can not get the right feel to the song. Thanks for any advise and love my uke and this forum.
-Stoked for life

Find a metronome online, match your foot with that, and then match your hands to your feet. Timing comes with experience. I used to be horrible at keeping time on my drum machine but I slowly gained that skill as I practiced more and more.

What Grant says. Metronomes really help.

No need to worry about timing if the ukulele is your first instrument. It may take much longer than three months to learn to keep time. It will come as soon as your brain does not have to be active to play the ukulele. Suddenly one day you sit in front of the television and play along to the commercials without thinking about it, and with good timing.

/Andy

Timing has to do with the general number of strums in each bar or measure, the units a song is divided into.

Blowing in the Wind is in 4/4 time which means there are 4 beats to each measure ( or section of the song ).

Here's how it's broken down: [ How many / roads must a / man walk / down, be- / -fore you can / call him a / man / ? ]
So that line of lyrics is divided into 8 measures at 4 beats per measure = 32 beats or strums.

The words "How - Roads - Man - -fore - Call - Man" fall on the down (first) beat of the measure so that when you
strum through the lyrics, the first of the 4 beats should (must) fall on those words.