PDA

View Full Version : Oh My! It Works! - Thanks Uncle Rod

Tack
04-07-2011, 03:26 PM
Hi all - thought I would post this here for the other beginners who frequent the forum.

I too am a complete noob - had my Mainland for about 2 weeks and almost no experience with stringed instruments in the past

I sent this PM to Uncle Rod a few days ago:

Hi "Uncle Rod"
HAD to send you this pm... Have been working on your boot camp for 2 weeks.... 20-60 minutes a day - pain allowing. Also done some 'noodling' to get used to strumming along the way. Fingers are toughening up well.

Today - picked up Ukulele Mike's YouTube lesson on amazing grace (another person you recommended IIRC).
It simply fell into place - Thanks to the boot camp, I KNEW the chords/chord changes backwards and could concentrate on the rhythm and singing.

Suddenly playing this instrument is a revelation. I had the biggest grin on my face......

Your system works........

Thank you - sincerely - thank you

With Uncle Rods permission (and to get his free links into the post easily ;) )

I will post part of his reply...

Thanks for the good word! I really appreciate it.

Thanks for taking it by faith and working through the exercises.

If you've been doing all the keys, you'll be surprised at how much easier it will be for you to learn new songs in different keys. Oh, you'll always have to learn an 'odd' chord here and there, but you have already laid a substantial foundation for all your future ukulele playing!

Sounds to me like the hard work is pretty much done and now you're experiencing the relative freedom of simply playing the uke.

I realize that some who look at the Boot Camp may be put off because it doesn't teach any songs. I'm truly glad that you recognized it for what it is - basic orientation in the use of a new and unfamiliar music-making tool, and that when one becomes skilful in the use of the tool THEN one will be able to play the songs, indeed just about any songs, much more easily.