Cross Banding

Ken W

Reaction score
Three quick questions about cross banding...
Do you always cross band a two piece back?
What is the width of the cross banding?
Does the answer to either of these questions vary according to the size of the uke (soprano, tenor, etc.)?

I did some experiments on this.

I took a pile of the offcuts left over from making 2-piece backs and tops and I bent them till they broke.

Not one of them broke exactly on the glue line.

So now, I don't generally do cross-banding. I'd use it if someone wanted a contrasting inlay strip up the back seam. Apart from that, I reckon a decent glue joint should be less prone to failure than the wood itself.

yup, half inch also, or thereabouts... as a total newb, i dont get why the back gets c/b and the front doesnt? obv i understand the sonic implications.... but ive had it explained to me that the c/b 'holds' the back together, if this is the case, then why doesnt the front? or am i speaking from a non softwood soundboard point of veiw?

The top has a big hole cut in it, and may (some say should) have a sound hole patch laminated, thus strengthening that area. The area in front of the upper transverse brace to the neck block is pretty small so wouldn't be a concern, and on many instruments has a fret board laminated over top anyway.

Below the lower transverse brace there should be a bridge patch inside. You're not going to have much real-estate left that is un-supported. And if you use a fan bracing one may be laminated right over the centre join anyway. So it's not much of an issue.

yup.. that makes total sense allen... thank you :)

*think before asking silly questions darryl.

On my sopranos I use a cross band of about 3/8s wide or just over... surely that's fine on such a small instrument. Probably go with 1/2" on concerts and tenors but to me that width just looks overkill on the soprano.