Strings metal?

benybrady

Reaction score
Hello newbie here and really interested in getting a fuller sound from a uke. This leads me to a tenor or a baritone. I've seen a 3rd metal string "c" on what I thought was a tenor. But I went to my local string shop and all the tenors they had had nylon strings. I cam really confused. please help? Ive heard lowG string but I don't think this is what i was looking at. I'm almost positive it was the c that was a metal and that i was playing a tenor Ohana tk20. Much thx in advance.:confused:

No big deal, beny. Some string sets come with a 'wound c' string. Some come with a low wound g string. Others are all plain, non wound sets. I've purchased all three types. Has to do with the mass to diameter ratio, I suppose. And a way to give even more options to folks who want them. Hopefully someone can explain it better to both of us.

Hey benybrady, to try and clarify, the wound C string you saw is still considered a nylon string, because the core is nylon with a metal winding around it. As opposed to a steel wound string, that has a steel core, with a metal winding around it. The former is used on classical guitars and ukuleles. The true metal, steel cored strings have a much higher tension and are used on steel string guitars, mandolins, banjos and sometimes on electric ukes with magnetic pickups.

Brad

And no, you can't use actual "steel" strings (as in steel-core) on a uke.
Most ukes are to be used with nylon strings, including wound nylon strings as described above.

Steel strings on a normal uke will most likely cause damage due to the higher tension that the uke is not designed to withstand.
The nut and saddle would probably not be designed to have steel strings either.

There are a few ukes that are designed to be used with steel strings.
They're a lot like electric guitars, but the size of a uke. One popular maker of them is Risa, which you can find at www.ukulele.de