PDA

View Full Version : Baritone advice!

Dotted
04-08-2011, 11:47 PM
Yet another newbie looking for buying advice! I've been saying I wanted to learn guitar for ages. However, I started looking into ukuleles one day at random and really liked everything I read about baritone ukuleles in particular. I'm new to stringed instruments (I sing and play a little flute) and have very tiny hands/fingers, so a uke seems like it would be a better fit for me. I looked at a few in a local Guitar Center; they had a few concerts and a baritone. I really liked the size of the latter while the former just seemed too small to me when I picked them up.

Since I'm just starting out and not sure how well I'll take to stringed instruments, I was looking to start off with something less expensive and upgrading if I really enjoy playing (I hope I do!) I saw several people here speaking well of the Rogue, which is crazy cheap for an instrument in my book, but I also saw a post where it was said it was harder to play because of a wide neck/string spacing. So I wonder if that wouldn't be good for a newbie with small hands.

I also saw a few decent reviews elsewhere for Hilo and Savannah baritones, but couldn't find very much info on them. Makala is on the high end for me price-wise but still a slim possibility. It seems to be sold out most places right now, though.

Any advice would be appreciated! I've been reading up for a few days now and my head is getting pretty turned around at this point :rolleyes:

mm stan
04-09-2011, 01:18 AM
Aloha Dotted,
Welcome to the UU and our forums....Have fun and enjoy it here...Check out Dr uke for songs, chords, and instruction..My advice to you is go in and try all the sizes out...and look for comfortability, playability,