Mahalo ukes?

geetarlover

Reaction score
hey, i am new to the ukulele world as my friend let me play on his Stagg electric strat uke. ever since playing it i have played ukulele songs on my guitar by using a capo on the 5th fret and i am hoping to buy my first ukulele soon. i was wondering, how are Mahalo ukuleles? the starter ones? i like the look of them but i have heard mixed reviews and was wondering if they are a good beginner buy :confused:

thanks much,

geetarlover.

Have not heard too many good Mahalo reviews. You need to answer basic questions...how much do you want to spend, what size uke, pickup, solid wood or laminate.
If you can list these answers, trust me, you will tons of suggestions as there are tons of ukes to choose from!!!

Okay urmm, well i live in the UK so that may limit suggestions. i have about £40 (about $50?), preferably a soprano, acoustic and a laminate as that will be cheaper :D

Then check into a Makala soprano or a Makala Dolphin. Both are about $50USD. Makala is a lesser expensive brand of Kala ukes and they are very good and are an excellent uke for the money. If you go the way of a uke such as the ones I mentioned, it is important that the strings be aquila strings as these strings really bring out the sound in a laminate uke. In addition, if you can, buy the uke from a dealer who will "set up" the uke before you get it. MGM (Musicguymic on ebay) does this and I believe he carries these ukes. Not sure who in the UK sells them. But there are a lot of UK folks here at the UU and I am sure they can help out as well. Good Luck!!!

Last edited: