recommend a good uke book?

ukuleledaddy

Reaction score
I just won a $10 gift card to Amazon and would like to buy a good ukulele book to help me move beyond my beginner/intermediate knowledge. I've been playing for almost 2 years but know almost no music theory and am stuck at one end of the fretboard using fairly basic chords. Any recommendations?

Fitncrafty -- would you please consider writing a thorough review on Amazon?

I would love to know more about this book!

Thanks so much for letting us know about it.

Third the motion for Fretboard Roadmaps...And I just loaded the " shameless plug"on my Kindle. Looking forward to the read! Thx for the heads up..

I fourth the motion for Fretboard Roadmaps...second the motion for the "shameless plug" and offer a new suggestion of "Music Theory For Dummies" not strictly Ukulele, the Ukulele for Dummies isn't out yet so I can't tell you how useful it is, but the Music theory one is GREAT! There's reviews for it on my blog, for each section I do a review..great book, I've learnt so very much!

Fretboard Road Maps?

It seems like an essential book to me.

Thanks so much for all great recommendations! I will be ordering Fretboard Roadmaps for sure and perhaps one or two others. Can't wait to show off my mad new skills!

fancy that...and all this time I thought your name was Paul!
I must admit, I'm still confused - Paul or Barry?. Regardless, I downloaded the Kindle edition and found it to be a great read! I've been playing bass for about 30 years and six-string for about 10 years so I'm no stranger to stringed/fretted instruments. To be honest, I wasn't sure that I'd get much from a beginners book. Boy was I wrong, As a Uke newbie, I learned all sorts of stuff about woods, strings, etc that I either never took the time to learn before or just never learned period.