Frustrating Conversation with Guitar Playing Coworker

ukejack82

Reaction score
I had a very discouraging conversation with a coworker yesterday who I have talked to before about music theory. I made the comment about how much I enjoyed attending UkeFest a few weeks back. He proceeded to lecture me about why the guitar was superior/better than the ukulele and how he "just did not get it". He asked me why I would bother with an instrument that "only" had four strings when I could enjoy doing so much more with a guitar. I shared with him that the ukulele was very accessible to me and that it brought me enjoyment. I respectively told him that I understand that everybody has preferences regarding musical tastes, etc. and that I did not understand his need to educate me or get me to change my mind. I mentioned that it was just as silly as arguing about which is better, vanilla or chocolate ice-cream. It is a matter of tastes. Although I am not a musician, I expect that each instrument has advantages and disadvantages, and that all can be appreciated and valued in their own right. It just irritates me that he felt he had the right to make value judgments regarding my instrument choice and that he felt compelled to get me to "see the light".

Anyway, once I got home and started practicing Sentimental Journey on my Mainland tenor last night, I felt a lot better.

Sorry for ranting, I just needed to get this off my chest.

- Jack

It surprises me when musicians feel the need to put down instruments that they don't play. Methinks his heart isn't in the right place. The purpose of playing guitar, or ukulele, or whatever, should be to make music and enjoy it. Not to assert that you're superior to other people. Boo on him. :)

Hi ukejack82

> Sorry for ranting, I just needed to get this off my chest

Glad to hear it out. You were absolutely right that the ukulele was very accessible to me and that it brought me enjoyment. None of his business what you do.