Just bought a 'super concert' uke...thoughts. comments...

sbpark

Reaction score
recently picked up an Ohana CK-35G, and like it a LOT. i started playing ukulele about a week ago (but also play banjo & guitar) and recently got the urge for a tenor uku mostly for the larger scale neck, but (and this is just my own personal opinion obviously) think the tenor sort of takes away from the 'small-ness' in both look and sound that originally attracted me to the ukulele. hence, the 'super concert' which is a concert body with a tenor neck. to me it seems like the best of both worlds, but they don't really seem to be that popular. are there any other 'super concert' owners out there?!

Last edited:
Really is diferent tone of a tenor.
I have a Koaloha superconcert and I love the sound. Great volume and good tension on the strings for solos in the 14 fret, and still have the bright of a concert/soprano.
Appearance is great for me. (koaloha concert body is a big concert body for me)

I'm new to all of this, just having played a few months. but I had a case of UAS and bought a used (barely) Kanile'a superconcert and I am loving it. It's what I'm playing mostly -- I agree with you it has a nice bright sound but the tenor scale. I've kept this a high g. it's all fun.

I used to have a KoAloha concert. I loved it. But I always wished I had gotten a superconcert. When I had my Moore Bettah created I had to have a superconcert. I'm really glad I did. I like the tenor neck, but love a concert body. It's perfect... for ME.

Whenever I buy another uke it will be a supersoprano. I know there's heaps of superconcert owners around these parts who love their ukes. For me, I like a more traditional soprano sound, so a concert neck would be perfect for me. Soprano body but with just a bit more tension and therefore volume, plus a little more room for the fingers on the fretboard. Sounds perfect!