Is my uke too cheap?

keymoo

Reaction score
Hi,

I am just starting out and am getting to know my new (cheap) soprano ukelele. I am practising tuning the uke, but discovered something odd. If I tune the G string to G, my tuner tells me it is at 392.0 Hz. I then tune the A string to 440.0 Hz.

Now, if I place my finger on the second fret on the G string and play it, the frequency I expect is 440 Hz (same as A), but I get 447.8 Hz and the A note played on the G string sounds wrong and grates against the A string - the two notes are not exactly same.

Is this a common thing with ukuleles, or do I have a very cheap, nasty uke?

Scratch that, I've realised who you are :)
It sounds to me like your strings are still stretching and settling and in my experience this takes a week or so to even out.
They're going to slip out of tune pretty much continuously until they've settled and you'll have to tune a LOT.

Hope it helped :)

Last edited:
Scratch that, I've realised who you are :)
It sounds to me like your strings are still stretching and settling and in my experience this takes a week or so to even out.
They're going to slip out of tune pretty much continuously until they've settled and you'll have to tune a LOT.

Hope it helped :)

Thanks for the reply, but carefully read my post again. I have just tuned the G and A strings to my tuner so they are PERFECTLY in tune. However when I hold down the 2nd fret on the G string the pitch is different to the open A string. That's not right, is it?

Thanks for the reply, but carefully read my post again. I have just tuned the G and A strings to my tuner so they are PERFECTLY in tune. However when I hold down the 2nd fret on the G string the pitch is different to the open A string. That's not right, is it?

I apologise, I thought they were slipping (the strings) between you tuning them and picking them.