PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding changing strings

ukejack82
04-25-2011, 07:55 AM
I am new to changing strings on my ukulele. I have watched the instructional videos and know how to change the strings, however I have troubles getting things back in tune. I have an electronic tuner that I use but it does not tell me what particular octave I am tuned to. On my first attempt, I broke my A string because I tried to tune it to high/tight. I am fearful of doing that again. Are there any suggestions for how to approach this. Also, is it advisable to remove and replace one string at a time rather than all four at once.

Thanks,

Jack

SweetWaterBlue
04-25-2011, 08:05 AM
I am new to changing strings on my ukulele. I have watched the instructional videos and know how to change the strings, however I have troubles getting things back in tune. I have an electronic tuner that I use but it does not tell me what particular octave I am tuned to. On my first attempt, I broke my A string because I tried to tune it to high/tight. I am fearful of doing that again. Are there any suggestions for how to approach this. Also, is it advisable to remove and replace one string at a time rather than all four at once.

Thanks,

Jack

Been there and done that. Go to one of the online tuners to get you started. Get one or more strings close and use your tuner from there.

http://howtoplayukulele.com/how-to-play-blues-ukulele/

Its also helpful to learn to tune the uke to itself. That way, you only have to get one string right and you can get the others from that.

OldePhart
04-25-2011, 08:06 AM