Reading standard notation music - it actually happened

SuzukHammer

Reaction score
I have been self teaching myself how to read music. Its pretty much like any language. You have to really try and immerse yourself in it to learn how to speak the language.

Yesterday, I was learning blues from a book written for guitarists. I don't play guitar so the tabs are fairly useless to me (to date).

They had a page of riffs to try and I just started playing from reading the music. I hadn't realized I was reading music until about halfway through.

It was both the tone and the timing that I was working on.

I had a blast and it made it faster to learn those riffs.

I had noticed my music abilities had improved because I can learn things faster. I attribute it to learning how to read standard notation music.

Aloha Frank,
Congrats on your reading music...you are better than me...I know almost nothing...Happy Strummings..MM Stan

Aloha Frank,
Congrats on your reading music...you are better than me...I know almost nothing...Happy Strummings..MM Stan

There are loads of people who don't read music and are very very good musicians; so, I don't think reading music is a prerequisite to being a musician.

There are lots of people who are happy to do rhythm (strumming) while they sing. And they sound great. Again, loads of people don't care about standard notation. I've never been to a group strum fest where they included melody notes.

I don't know why I decided I'd learn music but I knew without learning to read music, I'd likely become frustrated. Its taken years of constant (or half assed) trying to feel comfortable enough to say that I can read music.

And I know, without a doubt, it will allow me to do more things faster.