PDA

View Full Version : Memorizing chords

kim009
05-09-2011, 03:54 PM
Hi everyone! I had a stroke about 7 months ago now and decided to get on with my bucket list, which #1 was learning to play the ukulele. I have been playing for about 3 months now and find that I am still having trouble memorizing more than the basic (C,D,A,F,G,G7, etc) chords. I have to always have a small stamp of the chord to play it. I would like to memorize the fingering (even if I can't do it!) at a better pace. Does anyone have any memorization tricks? I am not a big fan of the computer generated flash cards.........Thanks everyone!

lonerhino
05-09-2011, 04:07 PM
You already know the chords. I would take on 3 at a time. No more, no less, and then you should be on your way. For a start, use C F G7. Hundreds of songs there!

joep
05-09-2011, 05:29 PM
Welcome to uu. I know exactly what you mean because I had a stroke last June. The difference is I already knew the major chords. But as far as learning new chords, I learn simple songs with 2 or 3 chords, and then try another. It's a slow processes but I've got lots of time on my hands. A site that might help is www.doctoruke.com. He has a lot of songs and has a player that you can play along with. I don't know a lot about ukulele, but I know a little about the problem we're having. If i can help in any way, let me know.

mm stan
05-09-2011, 06:14 PM
Aloha Kim009,
Welcome to the UU and our forums and glad to hear you are doing better after your stroke...my way of remembering chords is I don't look at a chart and try to remember all of them..I would
go crazy too...What I do is learn songs, and when I learn them, I learn the chords.. every time I learn a new song, I learn new chords..it works for me.. Just like if you wanted to learn a language,
you don't pick up a dctionary and try to remember all the words...you use it as a reference, when learning.. just be patient, hope it helps Good Luck, MM Stan

Ukulele JJ
05-09-2011, 06:51 PM