Uke Club... I SANG IN PUBLIC!

fitncrafty

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
Well tonight I went to Uke club.. Holy moses.. I thought the group (or at least my daughter) would sing with me when it was my turn to do a song, and this time I didn't pass. I ended up singing ALONE.. yup.. That was scary, and there was NO amount of deodorant that could stop the sweat pooling from my armpits. :)

I know it didn't sound pretty, I had no chord sheets for others to follow so they were trying to follow me!! ha ha.. A total beginner!

The good news is I didn't die.. The bad news is, it was the biggest group of people I have seen in forever there.. I did something I thought I would NEVER do.. One guy a professional singer high fived me and said. "I sang on key" GREAT!!

Anyhow... It was good to push through a mortifying fear of mine and now I am home safe.

Anyone else want to share a story like that?

That's so awesome Carrie. Rapt for you. That is such a huge hurdle, and one that many never can jump.

When I was in grade 6 primary school I was laughed out of the choir auditions. The worst part about it was the teacher was the the ringleader of the mirth. I was so badly hurt and scarred by the experience I have pretty much spent my whole life with a complex about not being able to sing. It's taken me years to get to the point where I just appreciate it for what it is. I decided to stop necessarily trying to please other people or be complemented, but instead, to simply do it because it was something I loved, that was a crucial element in me being able to fully express myself as a human being. Once your motivation for singing is rightly oriented, I think it starts to be less terrifying.

That said Carrie, my advice is DON'T STOP NOW!!!. Keep the ball rolling mate. Because the more often you expose yourself in that way, the less raw are the nerves and the stronger becomes your performance as a result. Soon you will reach that place where it is much less a trial than it is a real joy.