PDA

View Full Version : New-to-me Pono PKC

markyd
05-11-2011, 07:10 PM
Hi All,
I recently purchased a used Pono PKC ukulele -- nice concert sized koa body with ebony binding. However, I'm new to owning and playing a ukulele, so I have a few questions.

First, some very basic ones. I tried searching for the answers already, but they're probably so simple no one has asked:
(1)The strings were in bad shape, so I have replaced them with some new Martins. Looking on-line, I saw various mixtures of product images and descriptions. I ended up buying a set from Amazon that are advertised as "M600 Standard Crystal Nylon" in one place and "clear flourocarbon" in another, and the product image of the box says "Clear Flourocarbon". The strings I received were indeed 'crystal nylon' and 'M600', according to the box, not flourocarbon. So my question is whether 'crystal nylon' and 'clear flourocarbon' are two terms for the same string. I don't think so, because the listed diameters are different, but I know I've seen the Martin flourocarbons refered to as M600 here on UU, so I'm confused.

(2)Second question about the strings: the box indicates tuning for the key of D. Am I correct in assuming these will work fine in the key of C, but the tension will be a bit lower? It doesn't seem bad the way it is, but I wouldn't know the difference. :o

Okay, now a few more specific questions about this particular ukulele, if anyone can help: