First uke LANIKAI QUILT ASH SERIES?

MARCOVGV

Reaction score
Whats up guys im new to ukes and am looking to purchase my first.

I have narrowed it down to a tenor size. now for the money what is the best tenor i can buy?

so heres the lowdown

Under $500.00
Tenor size
Sreferably koa but open to suggestions
Must be solid wood no laminates.

I saw a lanikai LQA-TCA, but i cant find reviews on this uke. http://lanikaiukes.com/laniblog/ukuleles/quilt-ash-series/

help me out!

thanks so you think that given my budget of 500 mainland ukes are still a good option. Thats impressive. i will strongly consider mainland.. any other opinions?

Aloha Marco,
With that much, I'd rather get a used premimum kamaka or any K brands...Ko Aloha or Kanilea...you get a much better sounding and looking uke for the price...check the marketplace..
Good Luck...MM Stan

Aloha Marco,
With that much, I'd rather get a used premimum kamaka or any K brands...Ko Aloha or Kanilea...you get a much better sounding and looking uke for the price...check the marketplace..
Good Luck...MM Stan

I don't think I've seen many used K-brand tenors being sold for $500 or less. There was a Kamaka tenor being sold at the Marketplace for $800 and was snatched up very quickly.

At $500 or less for a tenor, Mainland and Ohana are probably as good as any. I think the Lanikais are well made (I have a concert zebrawood one), but probably don't sound as good as those mahogany Mainlands and Ohanas.

I was just offered a Kamaka gold label (no usa on the label) Baritone. it is in fantastic shape but the guy want 700.00 i think i can get it for 600.00.... what do you think?

i am not sure about the baritone ssize as i wanted a tenor... but then again ive never owned any uke so learning to play is learnoing to play.. i play guitar but thats a dif story.

thanks so you think that given my budget of 500 mainland ukes are still a good option. Thats impressive. i will strongly consider mainland.. any other opinions?