Scraping vs sanding

Spookymoulder

Reaction score
I'm new in he whole woodworking game
but i came across a video where the guy
was using a scraper instead of sandpaper.
he made an interesting point about sandpaper filling pores
and scraping leaving a nicer surface.
And the more i read about it
the more i see scraping to be a much better choice.

Since i'm new in the game, should i develop a hand for the scraper?

What do you guys say about this?

In my experience they both have their place. A scraper is very good for refining the shape of a neck, leveling sides and bindings and I use a curved scraper as the last step in the finishing of the interior of the tops and backs of my arch top instruments. You need a burnishing tool and some practice to keep them sharp.

Brad

In my woodworking I like to use planes, scrapers and files and sandpaper last resort, but when you have the right grits sandpaper has its place.
Cheers Ron.

It's one of the essential tools to have, but you do need to know how to sharpen them. It's not hard to do, and when they are sharp they are amazing to use. If they aren't you'll be asking yourself what all the fuss is about.

For levelling bindings and rosettes there is nothing better than a sharp scraper.

It's one of the essential tools to have, but you do need to know how to sharpen them. It's not hard to do, and when they are sharp they are amazing to use. If they aren't you'll be asking yourself what all the fuss is about.

For levelling bindings and rosettes there is nothing better than a sharp scraper.

And sharpness is the key, otherwise the scraper is simply gliding over the surface. I love to use scrapers when they're new, I just haven't been able to get a nice burr on them after I've used them.

Cabinet scrapers are an essential tool for making longbows.

I stick mine in a vice and rub a steel screwdriver along the edge to get the burr back.