Cigar Box Ukulele Directions? I have a neck.

Maiyah888

Reaction score
So the poorly reglued bridge on the hand-me-down Hilo from my cousin which she got from someone else as a hand-me-down popped off yesterday.

*feels sad*

And whoever glued it used something that deteriorated the laminate, so pieces of the top are still stuck in the splat of glue which is still stuck to the bottom of the bridge.

Although the friction tuners are kind of sucky, I thought I might try to make a cigar box uke so at least the neck could be useful.

Any advice for a total noob with no tools to speak of?

Get a good box, one with a thin WOOD top and bottom, the shallow boxes suck for sound so get one that is as deep as a uke or as close as you can find. Bolt on the neck, you might have to add a extra piece to the inside of the box if the side is thin. Add on your salvaged bridge or attach the strings to the back end of the box if needed adjust bridge height and you will be done before dinner, just joking, but not all that hard. Remember to put it all together with the box label in mind so it is not upside down although the sound is the same. Or use the back of the box if the wood is better, good luck.
Cheers Ron.

So the poorly reglued bridge on the hand-me-down Hilo from my cousin which she got from someone else as a hand-me-down popped off yesterday.

*feels sad*

And whoever glued it used something that deteriorated the laminate, so pieces of the top are still stuck in the splat of glue which is still stuck to the bottom of the bridge.

Although the friction tuners are kind of sucky, I thought I might try to make a cigar box uke so at least the neck could be useful.

Any advice for a total noob with no tools to speak of?

If you wanna PM me your email address, I have several links in my favorite places of just about every decent site out there on the subject>