Bushman vs. Pono tenor... need help

NatalieS

Reaction score
Hi there everyone,

I'm a newbie here. I have one uke, a mango flea, and I'm ready to move up to a solid wood and I'd like to get a tenor. I've narrowed it down to two ukes:

1) Bushman Jenny Tenor, matte finish

or

2) Pono PTM Mango Tenor

I just can't make up my mind. When I factor in the price of a hard case, S&H, etc. the prices will be pretty much the same. As far as sound goes, I'd like something a bit mellow and warm, and I'm interested in both strumming and finger picking

My biggest issue is I am a girl with really small hands and short fingers. I've always experienced a lot of discomfort with guitar, and even my flea took some getting used to. I need a uke with a slimmer neck.

Thanks very much!

Well, I've only tried one Bushman Tenor and only one Pono.

I was not impressed by the Bushman, and it also had a pretty beefy neck. My main problem with the particular one I played was that it sounded very dull. It was also much heavier than the Pono and just felt clunky.

I used to have a Pono with a cedar top and mahognay back and sides with a gloss finish. Much nicer looking instrument than the Bushman and with a much slimmer neck. I honestly wasn;t cray about the Pono either - it had too mellow a tone for me, but it might be right up your alley! I had a friend who had an all mahogany Pono and I liked it better - still mellow in tone, but more responsive.

I'd try the Pono and pass on the Bushman.

Have you thought about concert size? I'm a girl with fingers like you describe, and I find the concert size neck much easier to navigate than a tenor.

But having said that, I've not tried a Bushman, and I've only tried a Pono mahogany tenor, and it had a nice warm mellow sound. It was a bit too uncomfy to play though, which is why I think the concert size would solve your woes.