PDA

View Full Version : How should I practice?

FrankenNeko
05-21-2011, 09:37 PM
Hey everyone!

I just got my ukulele a couple months ago. I've been coming to this forum religiously looking at the clickable list of tabs. However, I'm wondering how you guys practice to improve on your basic skills. I try to look up different chord progressions and practice different strumming techniques. What do you guys do?

FrankenNeko

gritstone
05-21-2011, 10:32 PM
I've been playing uke for about 2 months also.

My practice involves playing a mixture of stuff I can play well (for the fun of it), then some I find difficult (learning) and also new stuff (more learning).

I've been really pleased and surprised how quickly I've progressed.

Oh, by the way, I haven't bothered learning a single chord, and probably won't even try to - I'm more interested in fingerstyle.
I can play though...

mm stan
05-21-2011, 11:33 PM
Aloha Frank,
Welcome to the UU and our forums and have fun and enjoy....google Musicteacher2010 and Keonepax for awesome ukulele tutorial videos and Dr uke for songs, chords and instructions..Happy
Strrummings...MM Stan

tgaines
05-22-2011, 05:03 AM
I am also pretty new at the uke and I usually first practice switching from chord to chord to build up fluidity, stretch out the fingers and hands, and make sure that my finger positionings are good. Then I alternate between practicing a song that I'm learning, and songs that I know well, and songs that I know on guitar.

kenikas
05-22-2011, 06:55 AM
Practice? Whats that??......really I just feel lucky when I can get a chance to pick up one of my ukes and plink around! But the sites MM Stan recomended are quite helpful, and as tgaines said just practicing chord changes seems to help me a lot. I've also found Ralph Shaw's Essential Strums DVD, and Ukulele Solos DVD (from the UU store) very good.

TheOnlyUkeThatMatters
05-22-2011, 09:11 AM
Welcome to UU!