The banjo bug...uh oh.

elisdad

Reaction score
I received my Mainland banjo uke last week and I am really enjoying it. In preparation for ordering it, I started practicing different banjo rolls and then got interested in clawhamer/frailing style of playing. In doing so, I found a fantastic beginner video series online by Patrick Costello and his father: http://www.youtube.com/user/Dobro33H#g/c/1AD8E1D90CC47470. He also has a free book online, "The How and Dao of Old-Time banjo". I am making slow, steady progress, but here is the rub....

Now I want a real banjo. Has this happened to anyone else?

Best explanation of the clawhammer stroke I've seen yet. I'm still struggling with it but I think this video will help. Yeah, I know what you mean about wanting a "real" banjo, but I think I'll stick with uke. Still have a lifetime of music to make on uke and uke banjo.

i had the opposite happen to me! started playing clawhammer banjo and ventured into the banjo-uke. i say give the banjo a shot, it's an amazing instrument.

Yep. Got a gourd banjo uke. Loved the sound. However, it was the bluegrass technique I was attracted to, not clawhammer. I bought an actual resonator banjo a couple of weeks ago. Banjos are awesome. (Don't worry; I still think ukes are awesome too. I play a number of musical instruments and feel that they are all awesome. The uke was one of my first, so it has seniority, along with the piano.)

Banjo ukes seem pretty cool. I have only tried a couple in a music store once, and that gut/nylon feel is definitely more interesting to me than the steel string thing. Fact is, I'm getting rid of my steel string guitars now, in order to get a classical/spanish one. Wonder how a nylon string piano would sound though...lol.

I have two banjo ukes and desperately want a banjo...do not desperately want to pay a grand for one. Someday.

I have two banjo ukes and desperately want a banjo...do not desperately want to pay a grand for one. Someday.