Type of music, to type of ukuleke

AhhhZombies

Reaction score
Hello there!

I am a newbie looking into purchasing a 'ukulele of my own! But I have one question..

I am looking to purchase a 'ukulele that will fit to the type of music that I am going to be playing. So, if I were to buy a concert 'ukulele would that be more suitable to play more modern music(rock, punk, pop songs, ect.)? would the concert be the best way to go? I can't decide between the concert, tenor, or soprano..

(sorry if this question was answered in a previous thread, I looked and looked, but couldn't find anything like my question(s) )

Thank you all for your help!
NinaRose.-

The Re-Entrants,a very good ukulele duo here in the
UK play one soprano and one concert.They play all
manner of music with no problems at all! So your
question is redundant really! If you have the skill,
the ability and the patience,you can play virtually
any sort of music on any sort of ukulele!

I agree with Luthien, except that there are ukes with different designs and sounds that may suit some better. Some ukes have special finishes, shaped like certain guitars (mostly cosmetic but shape does affect tone), some have pickups built in to play amplified, etc. etc. to the point that amplified, they sound more guitar-like. You get the picture.....but when all is said and done, a uke is a uke and size is more a matter of look, feel, playability (read hand size) etc. Good luck. Start shopping and look at lots of ukes. You'll see one that strikes your fancy, then you can see if there are any in a store near you, listen to them on YouTube, use the UU search engine, etc.

Check these guys out, see what they play:

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&...&q=punk+rock+ukulele&aq=f&aqi=g1g-v1&aql=&oq=

Last edited:
Aloha Ninarose,