My next uke

Laouik

Reaction score
So I thought I'd share a beginner's uke-decision process.

I've been playing for about 8 months. I picked up a solid top Mahalo at a local music store here in Toronto (12th Fret on Danforth) and started exploring the ukulele.

After going to a uke jam night at the Dominion pub, I left with brow furrowed as I couldn't hear my little Mahalo, the instruments next to me (mostly Kalas and Oscar Schmidts) just drowned it out. And most were other sopranos, not concerts.

I did a bit more research, managed to sell my Mahalo for 80% of what I'd paid for it and bought a Kiwaya KTS-4. I love this little marvel. It's made by T's Guitars in Japan and essentially a copy of a Martin ukulele from the 1930s. I play it almost every day. Though I wish that the time spent playing it was more representative of my ability, I don't care how good I am - I simply love playing it.

After playing the uke for about 6 months I finally left home with it and played with some friends. One person noted that perhaps a tenor might be an eventual upgrade for me. Given that I'm 6'5" and have rather large hands, the longer fretboard may prove advantageous if I'm struggling with the soprano.

I gave it some thought and started saving up to double my uke collection. I was torn. The Kiwaya wasn't cheap, and I wanted something of similar or better quality as it's clear that I'll be playing the uke for years to come. My first instinct was to aim for one of the big Ks. Kamaka, KoAloha and Kanile'a. I read the websites. Scoured YouTube for decent-quality clips (hoping there's be 720p videos with better sound). There are no stores in Toronto that carries them, you see. It would be a gamble.

I was initially set on a Kanile'a Tenor. On paper, everything about it was right to me. Aesthetics, engineering, etc.