help deciding on 1st uke!

ryanmalone69

Reaction score
okay, so i have no musical ability with a uke or guitar, but i realllly want to learn to play the uke. i dont want a cheap one or one thats too expensive. so i thought i had the one i wanted all picked out. i was going to get the Cordoba 15CM Concert Ukulele

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Cordoba-15CM-Concert-Ukulele-H63578-i1559526.gc

but then i found this Epiphone Les Paul Acoustic-Electric Concert Ukulele

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Epiphon...ric-Concert-Ukulele-Outfit-H69840-i1689587.gc

i really like the idea of being able to use an amp with the les paul uke, but im wondering if that will take away from its natural sound and even that natural uke look.

so give me some suggestions and tell me what you guys think i should do! thanks!!

I would recommend spending just a tad more and getting a solid top uke. I'm no expert but have read a lot of forums before buying my first Uke 3 weeks ago. I purchased a second uke 2 days ago so as you can see it's very addicting. Can you say UAS!!!

Lots of people say Ohana or Mainland for about a $120 more...if you want to stay in that $100 range, it's best to go to several stores and try them out since at that price range, they should be comparable. MM Stan made a very good point to me last time as it's going to cost about $40 to setup so it's better to pay a little more for a ukulele dealer who will setup the uke. Several out there. GLWS!!!

With no musical ability, it'll be tough to choose. Do you have any friends that play guitar or ukulele who'd be willing to head to a music store with you? They could play all the ukes in your price range (and even teach you a couple chords!), then you could decide. If that's not possible, consider contacting Uke Republic or Mim about getting a nicely set-up starter ukulele. Lanikai, Makala, Mainland, and Ohana all make good ukuleles that cost less than $100.