What is it all for???

mendel

Reaction score
Hey Everyone-

I'm in a moral quandary.... I work full time, I'm doing my phD Dissertation (about 9 months left), my wife and I have an 11 month old, and I just took a position teaching for my college as well. Granted extra money is nice, but we are fortunate and do not need it right now. The extra position will add a lot to my resume as I plan to pursue online teaching as a full time gig once the PhD is complete. I barely have time to breathe, and have no had time to even go running in a year. My morale is drooping and I'm beginning to ask myself "What is it all for?". I take my only joy each day from what little family time I have as well as my Ukeing.... I miss my family and I live with them!!!! What do I do? The extra position only lasts until December and it is a tremendous opportunity!!!!

Hang in there. It sounds like life is very hard and full of sacrifices at the present, but will pay off in the end. And the end is in sight: December for the teaching and February for your dissertation. Your family is there for you, and your ukuleles will be waiting. Life will be ever so much better in early 2012! That'll be 2 cents, please.

hi Mendel, I was in a similar position as yourself several years ago. Stuck in academia in the English Department at uni, my mind was going numb and it all felt like a waste of time...too much intellectual back-scratching and not enough time spent in the world of practical realities.