First Uke is Strung Wrong - Can I reuse strings?

katezilla

Reaction score
Hi all. Bought my first ukulele, a Lanikai LU-11 But it's string wrong. The A and G are reversed!
I've never strung an instrument and I'm mighty annoyed since I just bought it. Can I restring it myself using the strings on it?

I have no prior experience so bear with me, but I should be fretting with my left hand and strumming with my right if I'm right handed, yes? It's odd to me, I feel more comfortable with the neck in my right. What is the reasoning behind this?

Hey :D

Yes, you can absolutely restring your ukulele with the strings it already has on there. I recommend searching for restringing videos on Youtube, as there are a ton of helpful tutorials that will walk you through the process.

Let me ask, is this your first stringed instrument? It might just be you're simply not use to wielding the instrument yet. That said, if the neck feels more comfortable in your right hand, then hey, perhaps you're ambidextrous and should consider learning how to play lefty.

Hi,

Are you saying that the bottom (Closet to the floor) string is tuned to g and the top string is tuned to a?

If so, you can just retune to the correct key.

Hey :D

Yes, you can absolutely restring your ukulele with the strings it already has on there. I recommend searching for restringing videos on Youtube, as there are a ton of helpful tutorials that will walk you through the process.

Let me ask, is this your first stringed instrument? It might just be you're simply not use to wielding the instrument yet. That said, if the neck feels more comfortable in your right hand, then hey, perhaps you're ambidextrous and should consider learning how to play lefty.

Thanks! Great to know. All the videos I saw had new strings so I was worried its a one time only deal. Haha!