Do You Mainly Play Instrumentals or Do You Sing?

If we're being completely honest here, I only sing if I am also ukeing (or doin' karaoke). The whole reason I decided to learn to play instruments (guitar and uke) was so that I could strum/play while singing and have more fun with it.

True Story.

Sing... I'm not good enough for instrumentals yet & already know how to sing!

Damn you forum! - I wrote 5 lines here and nothing was posted. When I calm down I will repost....

When I play out, I just play songs with vocals. When I started playing regularly at this place a couple years ago, my first show there I played my best instrumental and people talked loud all through it. Since then, I haven't played any instrumentals. When I'm at home practicing, I'll mix in some instrumentals with other songs.

My personal experience is that playing instrumentals, you're maybe putting in 1/3 the work of if you were also singing. Instead of just concentrating on your instrument, you also have to project your voice, remember the words, coordinate the singing and playing rhythms, try to get some feeling into your singing, look out at the audience, remember to sing into the microphone (not below it because you're looking at your uke fingering), etc.

I have to work at the singing. About 20 years ago, I got a voice lesson from someone I had a couple albums by. He put over 30 minutes of exercises onto a cassette for me, which I've now converted to my iPod. I do the exercises for a couple of nights before I'm going to play for people, and it really improves my tone and range. I still think my voice is best suited for instrumentals, but at least I can now sing well enough to get my songs across. My singing friends still don't come looking for me to provide them with harmonies.