best value under $500

patico

Reaction score
hi everybody.

i'm new here at UU.

i want some help, what would be a nice uku in the under $500 range??
i like the:
-Pono MTD
-Mainland Classic Mahogany Tenor

any other options?

(i'm new to ukulele, about 8 months, but been playin the guitar for a while)

i like the koa pili koko tenor cutaway i just received. my wife is playing it now and its nice. prob upgrade tuners and bone nut /saddle and its a great uke for around 200 dollars. ive heard kelii are nice and around that range.

For a standard soprano, I'd have to suggest the Kiwaya KTS-4.

A Koaloha Pikake soprano is within that budget. I have one, it is one of the few soprano size ukes I have played that I enjoy playing, somehow the width of the neck, the depth, the fret height make it so pleasant, and the sound is classic uke soprano to me.

Since you listed a Mainland Tenor, I'm assuming that is the size of uke you are gong to buy.

To be honest, at $500 you are a little in no man's land. You're not quite to the K brand amount, but you are above a number of very good ukuleles such as Mainland. And I'd put Sailor on my list.

If you have the time, and the patience, to run around looking for a ukulele, I think the best value is a "Used" brand ukulele.

As an example, I saw that a MP tenor ukulele sold for $500 on Flea Market Music and that was probably a really sweet uke.

John

A Koaloha Pikake soprano is within that budget. I have one, it is one of the few soprano size ukes I have played that I enjoy playing, somehow the width of the neck, the depth, the fret height make it so pleasant, and the sound is classic uke soprano to me.

Good advice there, REALLY hard to beat a KoAloha soprano.

for all around usefulness