Which is the better chord book?

chindog

Reaction score
I've been looking around at ukulele chord books, and it looks like the most comprehensive are the Hal Leonard Ukulele Chord Finder, and the Roy Sakuma Treasury of Ukulele Chords.

Which would be the better choice? Or would you recommend getting them both? Since I am just a beginner on the Uke, I am looking for something that will show me a variety of different voicings for different chords.

Thanks!

I have the Hal Leonard book and it is pretty good. I have not seen the Sakuma book yet!

I've been looking around at ukulele chord books, and it looks like the most comprehensive are the Hal Leonard Ukulele Chord Finder, and the Roy Sakuma Treasury of Ukulele Chords.

Which would be the better choice? Or would you recommend getting them both? Since I am just a beginner on the Uke, I am looking for something that will show me a variety of different voicings for different chords.

Thanks!

The Roy Sakuma book shows all 4 voicings of each chord arranged by classification (all Major/Minor/Dominant 7th, etc). Excellent approach to learning chord voicings up the neck. Highly regarded resource. I learned my jazz chord voicings for guitar in the same way from an outstanding teacher.

The book just shows chord shapes and does not give left hand fingerings.

Regards,
Ray

I'll send you loadsa chord sheets for free if you want them. Send me a private message with and email address.

Both are actually quite good but my preference would be the Roy Sakuma book.

Roys. If nothing else for his descriptions of the different chords "Minor 7th Colorfully active with the soft tones of Autumn." Beat that Leanard.... ;)

Sakuma here. However, if you have an Android phone there are some great free apps for uke chords.

There are many free chord books around (you can download one from my site), but of the two, I like Sakuma's.