uke treatment & humidity

garyg

Reaction score
Greetings ukers, I am fairly new to the uke world and have some questions about the humidity issue. I live in Georgia so I assume that humidity isn't really an issue for most of the year and it makes sense that it's changes in humidity rather than high or low humidity itself that can harm an instrument. Nonetheless, why are ukes so susceptable to warpage from humidity changes - is it the thinness of the wood that they're constructed with? Also is it really true that we should be matching the humidity of the location where the uke was constructed to keep them in perfect shape or is that "folk wisdom". I mean, I suppose someone knows exactly where all those ukes made in China are from, but my guess is most folks have no idea what the humidity was in the location where their $200 uke was made. Finally, I travel a fair amount and take a soprano uke with me in a carry-on. Stepping into a plane during the Georgia summer is a tremendous change in humidity and besides keeping a humidifier in the case is there something else that I should be doing to protect my uke when I fly? Do most of you keep a humidifier in your uke cases at all times even if you live in humid climates like the American South or the coast?

Inquiring minds want to know.