D chord

kevsumac

Reaction score
My chord charts show D shaped like 1230 on the second fret. I find it impossible to get three of my fingers smooshed together on the same fret. And I have smaller fingers and a concert size uke!

I find it much easier to fret it like 1320. Kind of like how you fret G except you move the ring finger up to the same fret as the other two. Any thoughts on this?

Speaking as a fellow beginner, I use my index finger to bar all three strings while keeping the my hand elevated enough to leave the A string open. It may not be the most efficient in terms of chord progressions but it's working for me at the moment. I've also toyed with using my index finger to bar the G and C strings and my middle finger on the E string. Try them out and see what works for you.

I find it much easier to fret it like 1320. [...] Any thoughts on this?

Whatever works for you. There's really no "official" way to fret that particular chord. As long as the right strings are pressing down at the right fret, you're good to go!

Some people will fret both the 4th and 3rd strings both at the same time with their index finger, and use their middle finger for the 2nd string. And, as hopkid said, others use one finger to fret the three strings at once.

Me? I usually avoid playing that particular voicing in the first place. Problem solved! I play a D as 2225 (those are fret positions, not finger numbers) most of the time. Or I'll substitute a Dsus2 (2200). Or maybe a D(add4), which is 0220.

Many roads to Dublin.

JJ

Like JJ says: whatever works for you.

I have always played the D with one finger. However lately I've been working on using 3 fingers. I find that some songs work better with that fingering. That's the beauty of the ukulele. Lots of things work.