Any Ideas for a Uke Player Who's Losing Interest?

Papa Tom

Reaction score
I kind of expected this to happen at some point. After two decades as a professional drummer, I picked up my first uke about five years ago and became proficient with chords and strumming almost immediately. Since then, I've had tons of fun playing for kids and co-workers and have developed a few licks that make uke players with much more experience than I think that I actually know what I'm doing.

I don't know what I'm doing.

Now, five years later, I find that I'm kind of "stuck," blocked both mentally and physically from improving in the same increments as I did early on. And what's most frustrating is that, as well as I think I play the danged thing, any guitar player that comes along and picks up my uke for the first time instantly makes me look like an amateur.

I never got past the "rhythm" component of the instrument. While I have a better-than-average knack for syncopation that combines open with choked strings, I cannot solo or play melodies on command, which seems like the obvious next step forward. At this point, I don't really think that's going to happen for me, either.

So what can I do to keep my passion for the instrument alive? I find that I'm picking it up less frequently and playing the same things over and over. HELP????

I think everyone has to go through this Phase. Try checking out some tough tabs, and throw yourself into it! (That's what I'm doing) and it really helps! :)

Buy Lil' Rev's new book and CD...'101 licks for ukulele' then hook up onto youtube and watch him play some songs. If the sheer joy and enthusiasm doesn't grab you still, buy yourself a copy of 'Mighty Uke' DVD and kick back and watch it whilst cuddling your uke. Then watch it again. Then sleep on it and pick up the '101 licks' book next morning and start the journey to soloing and melody playing.