Maple Opinions?

JoeC

Reaction score
Aloha!

I'm pretty new to ukulele's, but I've been learning fast and loving everything about ukes more and more :D and I think now I'm ready for the 2nd member of my uke collection :p

So I've been looking all over for a pretty nice ukulele, that won't burn a whole in my metaphorical pocket...

I came across this one ukulele, which I pretty much love:

http://i1180.photobucket.com/albums/x413/JosephCotton/TanglewoodMapleUke.jpg
http://i1180.photobucket.com/albums/x413/JosephCotton/TanglewoodMapleUkeBack.jpg

I was just wondering what you guys thought of maple, how does it sound?
How does it compare to koa or mango?

I'm really not a mahogany kinda guy lol

Joe

Aloha Joe,

Generally, it all comes down to personal preference. Each individual has their own likes and dislikes. The sound and tone of an instrument is "Subjective" according to each individual depending on their taste. Generally, maple has a brighter tone than other woods. Ukes are made entirely of one type of wood for the tops, backs, and sides ... or also made with a combination of two different types of woods such as mahogany for sides and backs with a spuce top. Basically, it comes down to your own individual taste for aesthetics and sound.

Hope that helps. Welcome to UU and I hope to see you around the forums.

Aloha,

I love the looks of maple, but I've never played one. But it all comes down to personal taste and the way it sounds to you.

Maple tends to have a tighter, brighter tone than Mahogany, and even Koa/Acacia. I find it similar to Spruce in tone. Here is the maple I offer.

concert6a.jpg

I love maple; the look and the sound of it, which is why I have an Ohana TK75G on order. :D The uke you've got pictured looks superb.

Not so keen with the looks of flamed or spalted maple, mind.

I love maple; the look and the sound of it, which is why I have an Ohana TK75G on order. :D The uke you've got pictured looks superb.