Ukes On Ebay

Shastastan

Reaction score
Hi. Just finished a visit to Ebay-- so many ukes for sale there. Wow! There are sure a lot of ukes but many are the same make and model. I only looked at concerts and it took me a long time. 99.9% of the listings are "Buy It Now." I was surprised to see there were almost none for sale by non-business sellers. I'm sure some major retailers are also selling on Ebay also. I'm a noob and was just looking. I would not buy a uke on Ebay unless I really know what I'm doing and have done some comparative pricing. I'm sure there are some over-priced ukes on there as well as some "fair" deals. I recall one item where the seller was charging $80 shipping (maybe from Antarctica?). My conclusion is to do your research, compare prices, and then ask for a some input from the nice folks on this forum. If you happen to live in a place where there are a lot of stores selling ukes, visit them. I would prefer to buy from a local store up to a point (There are none that stock ukes here). However, if I find the same item for let's say $150 or more less, then I'll take the cheaper deal even it's online. I've bought and sold many items on Ebay, but it's not the first place I would go to look for a uke. Just my 4 cents worth;)

Stan

Aloha Stan,
Buying sight unseen can be really a disaster...in short, you may save some but there are chances and risks you take...plus you don't get a good set up...some dealers do them for free, so in the long run you may not be saving any money if you find out you need a setup or need to drop the action that may cost some.....just to let you know..good luck, Stan.... Nice Name..