Left Thumb Issuse/Questions

Pdyx

Reaction score
Short story:

What do you do with your left thumb when you're playing chords such as D7?

Longer story:

I fell in love with the ukulele about two months ago. A couple weeks ago my left thumb began bothering me. I've been playing a lot less (which sucks). I've incorporated the ukulele into one of my comedy acts (I do a lot of improv and sketch comedy) so I had to play here and there in preparation for a recent show and at the show. Have put it down to let my thumb heal so I can get back on it properly.

Here's my issue, my thumb started to hurt when I started playing more chords like D7, E, and other similar chords more regularly. I realized from doing internet searches I'm undoubtedly gripping the ukulele too tightly (which I'm working on) but from watching some people play I realized I'm also using my left thumb too much gripping onto the back of the neck, pressing my thumb against it like you might press your thumb for a print.

I also know that because my day job has me at a desk typing much of the day and some of my other hobbies involve my hands (puppet building, writing comedy) I'm exacerbating the injury even without playing.

I've been laying off and my hand and thumb feel better, but my question from the top stands, what should I be doing with my left thumb generally and specifically with certain chords where I can't let it more gently rest on the top of the neck? I watch videos but I can't see what people are doing because they're facing the camera and not showing what's going on behind the ukulele.

Thanks in advance. I've decided I have to just lay off playing (and maybe sewing and writing some) until I'm healed, but I can't not type at work.

[EDIT-apparently I can't edit the topic title where I misspelled issues...darn]

Short story:

What do you do with your left thumb when you're playing chords such as D7?

Longer story: