String tension question

blender

Reaction score
I've been playing for only 6 months or so, so I haven't exactly worn out the current set of strings on the few ukes I have. However, I've been thinking of picking up a few extra string sets (Worth's, Aquila, D'Addario, etc) to try out latter. The intended targets for these strings are a Flea, a Kala KA-C and a Tallgrass concert. These currently have Aquila Nylgut strings on them.

While looking on the Elderly site at Worth's strings, I see for a Soprano/Concert the Worth Browns are marked as different "tensions": light, medium, strong. I did search the forums and from what I found it looks like "higher tension = louder sound"???

I'm not a performer nor am I currently playing with others, so perhaps louder is not necessarily what I need. What would be a good starting point for someone who likely won't be able to tell the difference (i.e. "me")?

TIA for your advice.

Steve

Ah, you've got three ukuleles. Why not pick up one set each of light tension, medium tension, and strong tension strings? Put one set on each ukulele and see how they feel.

A Southcoast combination pack of light, medium, and heavy gauge strings would do the trick...

http://www.southcoastukes.com/stringuide_files/combopacks.htm

Their site has a ton of information about strings and tuning that's worth exploring whether or not you're interested in their strings.

And if in doubt, you can't go wrong with "medium".

Ah, you've got three ukuleles. Why not pick up one set each of light tension, medium tension, and strong tension strings? Put one set on each ukulele and see how they feel.

Sigh, actually I'm up to 5 ukes right now: 2 concerts, a Flea, a Boat Paddle tenor and a Wolfelele tenor.

Both the concerts have Aquila Nylguts and both sound completely different. I think I'll take your advice of getting a set for each tension and try them out.

A higher tension gives you a cleaner sound...but affects playability and comfort for me..