Unhappy with new strings! HELP!

Reaction score
I've had the same strings on my Mahalo U30 since I got it a year and a half ago, and they were beginning to sound a bit dull, so I bought a set of Rotosound RS85 Laguna strings and fitted them. The result? Same dull, twangy sound, but now they sound out of tune as well, and they feel "soft", especially the C. The strings seem to be much lower-tension than the original set, and are very sensitive to finger pressure. I have been using Rotosound bass guitar strings for over 30 years, and I can't believe that they would put their name on these horrible uke strings! What do you recommend?

First, make sure you are tuned to pitch and not an octave low. Use an online tuner and make sure your C is middle C.
If you are using an electronic tuner make sure it is set on A440.
If all is ok than you may need to try strings with more tension. Aquilas because of the high tension are know to wakeup a dull ukulele.
I also like Orcas, the jury is still on the Kala Reds I just got.

I recommend Worth clears.

it takes a while for ukulele strings to stretch out, i wouldn't worry too much. about it.

Aquilas because of the high tension are know to wakeup a dull ukulele.
I also like Orcas, the jury is still on the Kala Reds I just got.
i just got a set of Kala reds, haven't tried them yet.

Last edited:
I was wondering whether there is any difference in this set between the two thinner and two thicker strings - the gauges are described on the packaging as 23-29-29-23, but each string has a different code on its envelope, along with a letter (note?); "23 B 851", "29 F 852"; "29 D 853" and "23 A 854". Is it possible that the two "23"s and "29"s aren't identical? Maybe these strings aren't even designed for a soprano - if those letters are notes, the tuning BFDA looks completely wrong.

Aloha Butterfingersbeck,